Another tool to keep deer away.

So far our fish line and cds have worked well in keeping deer out of our new vineyard but, we have the advantage of the being situated by an alfalfa field which seems to hold their interest more than our vines. So this means we need to research other means of keeping deer out as to cover all our bases so to speak. One thing I decided to try out is a product called Deerchaser which is basically a 10.25 inches tall x 4 inches wide box that has been “Engineered with special sound level and light intensity to scare away deer but remain unobtrusive to humans.” I ended up making a stand for each of these boxes (a total of 8) to put into the vineyard with the best possible positioning. So I decided to run a test first to see how well the box worked. What I did was to fill a bucket of feed and put it in front of the Deerchaser on its stand in the middle of an open field (the alfalfa field next to our vineyard) and see if any feed went missing or if any deer tracks showed up. What I found after a week was that no feed went missing (I even had it situated close to a deer path) and that no tracks came close to it. (see pics below) So far so good!

Picture of two deerchasers on stands I made for them just south of the new vineyard.

Picture of two deerchasers on stands I made for them just south of the new vineyard.


Bucket I feed that I left out to see if I our Deerchasers worked at scaring away deer from even the most tempting food.

Bucket I feed that I left out to see if I our Deerchasers worked at scaring away deer from even the most tempting food.


Still the same amount feed in the bucket even after 3 days!

Still the same amount feed in the bucket even after 3 days!


Another shot 4 days later.

Another shot 4 days later.

Leave a Reply

